24 June 2018

WELCOME TO AYR: ST. COLUMBA CHURCH: For 116 years this building has stood at the heart of this part of our ancient Royal Burgh. It has witnessed wars, been favoured by a Royal visitor, welcomed holidaymakers, and been served by illustrious ministers, devoted musicians and dedicated members. Throughout these years, in anxious and sad times, in days of celebration and rejoicing, this Church has served the people as a place of sanctity, stability, and continuity. Today, in a society where the things of faith are often neglected, we strive to maintain an inclusive Christian presence, seeking ever to enhance the lives of everyone who comes into contact with us, and to reach out in mercy and compassion to a deeply troubled world. Here we explore and are not afraid to fail; here we are encouraged to ask questions; here we try to be a safe place for all ages. If you are here for the first time today, we pray that you will know something of God’s love in Jesus Christ, and that you will go home feeling inspired, strengthened, challenged and comforted.
AT THE DOORS TO WELCOME YOU TODAY: Team 4: Mr. Iain McCrae, Mr. Ken Gray, Mrs Lynsey Kerr, Mrs. Yvonne Russell, Mr. Harry Peters, Ms. Angela Lindsay, Mr. Iain McFadzean, Mrs. Anne Drennan, Mr. John Ewing, Ms. Gillian Watson, Mr. John Robertson, and Mr. John Crone
Team 5: Mrs. Nan Mackie, Mr. Alec Mooney, Mrs. Jane Murnin, Mr. Jim Loch, Mr. John Morrison, Dr. Simon Farrell, Mr. Robert Seath, Mrs. Susan Mills, Mr. Gordon McKinlay, Mr. Douglas Paton, Mr. John Forsyth
Team 6: Mrs. Pamela Naylor, Mr. Tom Rodger, Mr. Bill McCulloch, Mr. Michael Whiteford, Mrs. Edna Gemmell, Mr. Alex. Connell, Mr. Robbie Park, Mr. Jim Hunter, Mr. Jim Hume, Mrs. Liz Murray, Mrs. Jane Hunter and Mr. Jim W. Brown
MINISTRY OF FLOWERS: The flowers, which adorn the Sanctuary this week, have been given to the Glory of God by Mrs. Elizabeth Lawrie, Mr. & Mrs. Bill Wilson, Mrs. Catherine Ritchie, Ms Sharon Lindsay and Revd. and Mrs Roddy McNidder
9.30 am – Team: 4 11.15 am – Team: 5 6.30 pm – Team: 6
Sound: Mr. John Ferguson Sound: Mr. Stuart McKinlay Sound: Mr. Jim Brown
Unfermented wine is available in the centre of every tray below the handle.
Retiring offering at all Services for support of our friends in the Congregation at Lochside Church
Sunday 1st July 2018
9.30 am Family Worship              Duty Team: 7                Sound: Mr. Alan Hawthorn
11.15am Morning Worship                                                    Sound: Mr. George McMillan
KIRK SESSION: there will be a meeting of the Kirk Session on Tuesday 3rd July at 7.30pm in the Church to discuss the future of the Cathcart St Hall.
20’s IN THE PEWS: total collected in May £ 81.36. The Kirk Session has decided to donate funds raised this year to support the work of ACE (Racerunning) Disability Recreation and Sport, Ayr.
LIFE & WORK: Pre-ordered copies of the June edition are available for uplifting at the main door of the Church. There are extra copies available at both doors priced £2.50
HOLIDAY CLUB: the Team are excited to bring you a fantastic Holiday Club – “Seaside Rock”! We hope this will run during w/beg Monday 6th August but there are conflicting Clubs on in other Churches. It is probable, but unconfirmed, that we will run from 1pm – 3pm.. Whatever the time we really need your help – we need a team of people willing to deliver leaflets round the parish – if you are able to help please contact Irene or stuartmckinlay@aol.com. Also urgently require volunteers to help during the week.
SUMMER OASIS: The Summer drop in café is open to everyone – please bring a friend! Meeting every Thursday 10.30 – 12.00 in the Struthers’ Room, this is a place to relax, a place to chat! The morning papers are available.
FOOD BANK: The items most needed this week are – small packets of tea bags, small bottles of diluting Juice, small packets of rice, tinned potatoes, tinned tomatoes, tinned mince/stew/cold meat and UHT milk. Please remember a few extra items when you shop.
AYR HOSPITAL: Mr. Willie Chalmers (Stn 12), Mr. Norman Peterson (Stn 12), Mrs. Betty Davidson (Stn 14) and Mrs. Ann McLure (Stn. 9)
QUEEN ELIZABETH HOSPITAL, GLASGOW: Mrs. Marlene Hamilton (Spinal Unit)
CONGRATULATIONS to Jennifer Lawrie, one of our youth leaders on gaining a First Class Honours degree in Music, from the Royal Conservatoire, Glasgow.

Minister: Revd. Fraser R. Aitken KSJ, MA, BD
Associate Minister: Revd. David T. Ness LTh
Organist: Mr. Matthew Hynes BA (Hons)